Keep an eye out for voting information coming out in early July for the Honoraria committee. Voting will close at 4pm on 10 August 2020 with the results announced by 13 August 2020.

As a LIC shareholder, your vote is important to elect the farmer representatives you want to be involved in the running of our cooperative across the LIC Board, Shareholder Council and Honoraria Committee. 

Updates on the recent Board and Shareholder Council elections are below. Thank you to all the candidates who put themselves forward and to all shareholders who voted. I look forward to working with our new Shareholder Councillor, Christine Macbeth.

It is now time for shareholders to vote for members of the Honoraria Committee. Your election voting options and details for membership of the Honoraria Committee, are outlined below. 

Going Online

With a global move to online communication as a result of COVID-19, we are encouraging shareholders to receive their Honoraria Committee election voting papers and to exercise their vote electronically. However, there will still be a paper-based voting option for those that prefer this method. Voting documents for these positions will be sent by email to shareholders on Monday 6 July 2020. 

Voting will close at 4pm on 10 August 2020 with the results announced by 13 August 2020.

Please contact shareregistry@lic.co.nz or phone 0800 542 742 if you have any questions or want to receive your voting papers in the mail. Otherwise keep an eye in your inbox for your election information.

The Committee’s role is to consider and recommend the form and amount of remuneration LIC directors and Shareholder Councillors receive each year. 

The committee consists of up to four independent, shareholder-elected, farmer shareholders. Each Committee member stands for a period of two years before retiring or seeking re-election. 

The previous Chair of the Committee, David Gasquoine, retired earlier this year to take up an exciting opportunity in Oregon, USA. Thank you David for your nine years of service on the Committee.

Following his retirement, the current committee members are: 

  • Ian Brown (Chairman)
  • Paul Todd 
  • Scott Montgomerie

Scott is due to end his current term in August but he has indicated his interest in remaining on the committee and is therefore seeking re-election.

There are two positions up for election this year, with four candidates: Scott Montgomerie, Nico Hadj-Blaha, Shirley Trumper and Ellen Bartlett. Candidate profiles will be provided with your voting papers.

The Midland Region elected directors, David Jensen and Gray Baldwin, have been re-elected unopposed for another term until 31 May 2024. Both David and Gray were first appointed in June 2012 and their continued contribution is appreciated by the wider Board. 

Gray and his wife Marilyn milk 750 autumn calving cows on their 730ha property near Lichfield in South Waikato where Gray is also a local councillor.

David and his wife Lesley milk 700 KiwiCross cows and grow 25 hectares of kiwifruit and avocados on their Bay of Plenty farm. He started farming in 1992 and is a former member of the LIC Shareholders Council. 

Christine Macbeth from Nelson Lakes has been appointed to the vacant Shareholder Council Ward 16 seat in Tasman/Marlborough from 1 April 2020 until 31 May 2023. 

Christine and her husband Fraser breed high BW Jersey cows with the aim of having their herd in the top 1% on BW. Please give Christine a warm welcome to the Shareholder Council and wider LIC family.

The following Councillors were re-elected unopposed for another term on the Shareholder Council until 31 May 2024:

Mark Hooper – Ward 11 North Taranaki

Richard Ridd – Ward 14 Manawatu / Rangitikei

David Hands – Ward 15 Hawke’s Bay / Wairararapa

We have vacancies in Ward 12 Coastal Taranaki and Ward 13 South Taranaki, with Bede Kissick and Gordon Glentworth having retired on 31 May 2020. We would like to thank them both for their contribution to our cooperative and wish them all the best in their next endeavours.